June 21, 2016

Lin-Manuel Miranda ft. Phillipa Soo (Hamilton Broadway Musical) – That Would Be Enough

Posted in Lyrics, Music Video, Personal Post, Song Comment tagged , , , at 1:25 pm by LynxLee


Reasons why I watch Broadway or West End Productions – stories, music, acting, impacts, emotions, flow, packed, love, lyrics, orchestra, live, real. I don’t think there’s any better – people who does triple threat (Act, Sing, Dance) and yet they love it so much that they do it everyday. Watching it with a packed audience feeling the same way enjoying the amazing things happening on stage – right in front of your face. There’s simply nothing like it.

I’ve stumbled upon “Hamilton” from watching James Cordens’ Mic Drop with Kevin Hart to James Corden’s Carpool with Lin-Manuel Miranda and the Broadway stars. In fact, I’m gonna watch the 2016 Tony Awards soon with my wife – on tv.

Songs like these (i.e. Wicked’s For Good) just invoke an emotional center in you that makes you feel loving is worth every action you take. The very care of lyrics and vocals just ensures you that life is worth living. Perhaps I’m exaggerating, but it really does – at least for me. Being in awareness that someone will be there for you no matter what you are going through and staying strong through it all speaks volumes in the matters of the heart. I don’t know about you, but to me – That Would Be Enough.

ddd67717d1a20f7e4388517d542e7b42.1000x417x1
I relish being your wife
Look around, look around…

Look at where you are
Look at where you started
The fact that you’re alive is a miracle
Just stay alive, that would be enough

And if this child
Shares a fraction of your smile
Or a fragment of your mind, look out world!
That would be enough

I don’t pretend to know
The challenges you’re facing
The worlds you keep erasing and creating in your mind

But I’m not afraid
I know who I married
So long as you come home at the end of the day
That would be enough

We don’t need a legacy
We don’t need money
If I could grant you peace of mind
If you could let me inside your heart…

Oh, let me be a part of the narrative
In the story they will write someday
Let this moment be the first chapter:
Where you decide to stay
And I could be enough
And we could be enough
That would be enough

[ELIZA]
Look around, look around at how lucky we are
To be alive right now
Look around, look around…

[HAMILTON]
How long have you known?

[ELIZA]
A month or so

[HAMILTON]
Eliza, you should have told me

[ELIZA]
I wrote to the General a month ago

[HAMILTON]
No

[ELIZA]
I begged him to send you home

[HAMILTON]
You should have told me

[ELIZA]
I’m not sorry

[ELIZA]
I knew you’d fight
Until the war was won

But you deserve a chance to meet your son
Look around, look around at how lucky we are
To be alive right now.

[HAMILTON]
The war’s not
Done.

[HAMILTON]
Will you relish being a poor man’s wife
Unable to provide for your life?

[ELIZA]
I relish being your wife
Look around, look around…

Look at where you are
Look at where you started
The fact that you’re alive is a miracle
Just stay alive, that would be enough

And if this child
Shares a fraction of your smile
Or a fragment of your mind, look out world!
That would be enough

I don’t pretend to know
The challenges you’re facing
The worlds you keep erasing and creating in your mind

But I’m not afraid
I know who I married
So long as you come home at the end of the day
That would be enough

We don’t need a legacy
We don’t need money
If I could grant you peace of mind
If you could let me inside your heart…

Oh, let me be a part of the narrative
In the story they will write someday
Let this moment be the first chapter:
Where you decide to stay
And I could be enough
And we could be enough
That would be enough

Leave a Reply

