July 15, 2015

Ed Sheeran – Small Bump

Posted in Lyrics, Music Video, Personal Post tagged , , at 8:43 am by LynxLee


Life ain’t easy. I told a friend of mine recently that making something takes a lot of effort and time, removing it is easy and quick usually. Of course, this is if you’re thinking like a machine. Blend in emotions and human dynamics, we know that because we took a lot of effort and time – investing our feelings, thoughts, prayers and everything else.. removing isn’t exactly that easy. Sometimes everything happens for a reason and I guess we all won’t know what reason is, but if we take our time to just wonder instead of ponder – soon it will all sink in. We’re doing our best. It’s hard to let go, but it’ll be alright.

giphyAnd I’ll hold you tightly and tell you nothing but truth
If you’re not inside me, I’ll put my future in you

You can wrap your fingers round my thumb
And hold me tight
And you’ll be alright

‘Cos you were just a small bump unborn for four months, then torn from life
Maybe you were needed up there but we’re still unaware as why.

You’re just a small bump unborn in four months you’re brought to life
You might be left with my hair but you’ll have your mother’s eyes
I’ll hold your body in my hands, be as gentle as I can
But for now you’re a scan of my unmade plans
A small bump in four months you brought to lifeAnd I’ll whisper quietly and give you nothing but truth
If you’re not inside me, I’ll put my future in you

You are my one and only
And you can wrap your fingers round my thumb
And hold me tight
You are my one and only
You can wrap your fingers round my thumb
And hold me tight
And you’ll be alright

You’re just a small bump, I know you’ll grow into your skin
With a smile like hers and a dimple beneath your chin
Fingernails the size of a half grain of rice
And eyelids closed to be soon open wide
A small bump, in four months you’ll open your eyes

And I’ll hold you tightly and tell you nothing but truth
If you’re not inside me, I’ll put my future in you

You are my one and only
And you can wrap your fingers round my thumb
And hold me tight
You are my one and only
And you can wrap your fingers round my thumb
And hold me tight
And you’ll be alright

Then you can lie with me, with your tiny feet
When you’re half asleep I’ll leave you be
Right in front of me, for a couple weeks
So I can keep you safe

‘Cos you are my one and only
You can wrap your fingers round my thumb
And hold me tight
You are my one and only
You can wrap your fingers round my thumb
And hold me tight
And you’ll be alright

‘Cos you were just a small bump unborn for four months, then torn from life
Maybe you were needed up there but we’re still unaware as why.

Leave a Reply

