December 19, 2014

Maxwell/Kate Bush – This Woman’s Work

Posted in Lyrics, Music Video, Song Comment tagged , , at 2:41 pm by LynxLee


I’ve just stumbled into this track while listening to some XFactor Contestants. What a great song. I love the tenderness and the lyrics. Totally reminded me of Kevin Michael. The high pitch tender voice and the big afro. Oh what memories. So this track is supposedly about being a mother to an unborn child and from a guy’s point of view.

Merry Christmas!

The lyric of “This Woman’s Work” is about being forced to confront an unexpected and frightening crisis during the normal event of childbirth. Written for the movie She’s Having a Baby,[2] director John Hughes used the song during the film’s dramatic climax, when Jake (Kevin Bacon) learns that the lives of his wife (Elizabeth McGovern) and their unborn child are in danger. As the song plays, we see a montage sequence of flashbacks showing the couple in happier times, intercut with shots of him waiting for news of Elizabeth and their baby’s condition. Bush wrote the song specifically for the sequence, writing from a man’s (Jake’s) viewpoint and matching the words to the visuals which had already been filmed.
Reference: Wikipedia

maxwellI should be crying but I just can’t let it show, baby
I should be hopin’ but I can’t stop thinkin’
Of all the things we should’ve said that we never said
All the things we should’ve done that we never did
All the things that you wanted from me
All the things that you needed from me
All the things I should’ve given but I didn’t


Pray God you can cope
I’ll stand outside
This woman’s work
This woman’s world
Oh it’s hard on the man
Now his part is over
Now starts the craft of the Father

I know you’ve got a little life in you yet
I know you’ve got a lot of strength left
I know you’ve got a little life in you yet
I know you’ve got a lot of strength left

I should be crying but I just can’t let it show
I should be hoping but I can’t stop thinking
All the things we should’ve said that I never said
All the things we should’ve done but we never did
All the things we should’ve given but I didn’t

Oh, darling, make it go, make it go away

Give me these moments
Give them back to me
Give me your little kiss

Give me your…
I know you have a little life in you yet
Give me your hand, babe
I know you have a lot of strength left
Give me your pretty hand
I know you have a little life in you yet
Oh oh oh
I know you have a lot of strength left

My love child
I know you have a little life in you yet
Whatever you need me
I know you have a lot of strength left
Give me your hand
I know you have a little life in you yet
Give me your hand
I know you have a lot of strength left

I should be crying but I just can’t let it show, baby
I should be hopin’ but I can’t stop thinkin’
Of all the things we should’ve said that we never said
All the things we should’ve done that we never did
All the things that you wanted from me
All the things that you needed from me
All the things I should’ve given but I didn’t

Oh, darling, make it go away, just make it go away

Leave a Reply

