July 15, 2009

Phil Collins – Separate Lives

Posted in Lyrics, Music Video, Personal Post, Song Comment tagged at 3:56 pm by LynxLee


You know how it feels like sometimes.. to know that we are happy, but at times; we just don’t know where we are? The simple feel of being lost.. after a good laugh. Like, you don’t know how to proceed. Not knowing what to do. Knowing, that there’s a lot that you just can’t take.. It’s like being tattooed.. you want something to remember by.. you want a love mark, or strength mark.. yet it hurts, it’s gonna leave a mark. Could be a nice mark, could be a bad one.. but it’s there. Just.. unsure and lost. This song makes me feel that way. Like, you want her; but you know it might not be right. Confusing, really. And the worse part is.. that’s all you can think about..

Ooh, it’s so typical, love leads to isolation
So you build that wall (build that wall)
Yes, you build that wall (build that wall)
And you make it stronger

You have no right to ask me how I feel
You have no right to speak to me so kind
We can’t go on just holding on to time
Now that we’re living separate lives

You called me from the room in your hotel
All full of romance for someone that you met
And telling me how sorry you were, leaving so soon
And that you miss me sometimes when you’re alone in your room
Do I feel lonely too?

You have no right to ask me how I feel
You have no right to speak to me so kind
We can’t go on just holding on to time
Now that we’re living separate lives

Well I held on to let you go
And if you lost your love for me, well you never let it show
There was no way to compromise
So now we’re living (living)
Separate lives

Ooh, it’s so typical, love leads to isolation
So you build that wall (build that wall)
Yes, you build that wall (build that wall)
And you make it stronger

Well you have no right to ask me how I feel
You have no right to speak to me so kind
Some day I might (I might) find myself looking in your eyes
But for now, we’ll go on living separate lives
Yes for now, we’ll go on living separate lives
Separate lives

2 Comments »

  1. Kristine said,

    sometimes the pain in the tattoo reminds you of what you went through…a little pain that gives you a great satisfaction. A beautiful tattoo. There are types of pain. Some pains are actually good for self-development.

    Depends on how you see things. Good or bad. 🙂

    • LynxLee said,

      I see things in a different way, no doubt. Can’t comment if it’s good or bad though. No pain, no gain; but sometimes we have a choice to go through it.. or not.. ..yet..


Leave a Reply

