May 26, 2008

David Cook – The World I Know

Posted in Lyrics, Music Video, Personal Post, Song Comment tagged at 10:31 am by LynxLee


The latest American Idol, David Cook is a genius for picking this song for the last performance. It’s such an emotional song that’s pretty sentimental.

So yeah, I feel sad listening to this song. Yet, it’s a very hopeful song. I love the feeling of faith instilled in it. Knowing that this world is mine. This world is a world that I know.

If I need to just describe how I felt like listening to this, I’ll just go back in my mind, back in time when everything was so simple. When it was just me, alone with everyone backing me up while I do anything.

I guess it’s been such a different world now. Yet there will be times when we feel like the puzzle fits and everything is according to plan.

I feel I’m in that plan.

DanL

So I walk up on high
And I step to the edge
To see my world below.
And I laugh at myself
As the years roll down.
cause its the world I know.
Its the world I know.

Has our conscience shown?
Has the sweet breeze blown?
Has all the kindness gone?
Hope still lingers on.
I drink myself of newfound pity
Sitting alone in new york city
And I dont know why.

Are we listening to hyms of offering?
Have we eyes to see that love is gathering?
All the words that Ive been reading
Have now started the act of bleeding into one.

So I walk up on high
And I step to the edge
To see my world below.
And I laugh at myself
As the tears roll down.
cause its the world I know.
Its the world I know.

Leave a Reply

