January 7, 2007

Linkin Park / Josh Groban – My December

Posted in Lyrics, Music Video, Song Comment tagged , at 10:23 pm by LynxLee


Last time when I first bought Linkin Park’s first CD, “My December” was one of my favorite songs. It’s great to hear different type of style & vocals into a good song. Especially the fact that it’s so simple, yet so hard to make or imagine. Lovely.

So many meanings & feel to this one song alone. It could be almost anything, as the lyrics are general & pretty touching to the proper audience. I know what I feel when I hear it.. I feel Christmas.. I feel the end of the year. The feel like something is missing this year.. Just can’t place a finger on it.. or perhaps, maybe I did?

Can you feel it?

and i
just wish that i didn’t feel
like there was something i missed
and i
take back all the things i said
to make you feel like that
and i
just wish that i didn’t feel
like there was something i missed
and i
take back all the things i said to you


Josh Groban – My December (Vocal version)


Linkin Park – My December (The original artist of the song)

this is my December
this is my time of the year
this is my December
this is all so clear

this is my December
this is my snow covered home
this is my December
this is me alone

and i
just wish that i didn’t feel
like there was something i missed
and i
take back all the things i said
to make you feel like that
and i
just wish that i didn’t feel
like there was something i missed
and i
take back all the things i said to you

and i give it all away
just to have somewhere to go to
give it all away
to have someone to come home to

this is my December
these are my snow covered dreams
this is me pretending
this is all i need

and i
just wish that i didn’t feel
like there was something i missed
and i
take back all the things i said
to make you feel like that
and i
just wish that i didn’t feel
like there was something i missed
and i
take back all the things i said to you

and i give it all away
just to have somewhere to go to
give it all away
to have someone to come home to

this is my December
this is my time of the year
this is my December
this is all so clear

and i give it all away
just to have somewhere to go to
give it all away
to have someone to come home to

powered by performancing firefox

9 Comments »

  1. Harsh J said,

    I dont like it when he sings šŸ˜¦ But this is my most favorite song, off the whole collection of my music. I guess am more used to Chester and Mike singing šŸ˜›

  2. Jessica said,

    I agree totally. I didn’t realise Linkin Park did the original version, I only knew Josh Groban’s version and absolutely loved it, I think it is incredibly powerful. The video above is the one I know it from and whenever I watch it I am always completely blown away by its brilliance.

  3. […] Evans Blue delivers the whole song so amazingly. They are best known for hard rock music but this song shows how capable they are in any type of genre. It’s like Linkin Park singing “My December”. […]

  4. Whit said,

    This song has nothing to do with Christmas or anything of the sort. Its about someone in their darkest points in their lives. Its to when you feel like you have nothing left to live for and you’ll do anything to just to see the faintest glimmer of warmth, love, and hope.
    Even though “My December” was written by Mike Shinoda, of Linkin Park, I believe Josh Gorban took the song to the next level because of his unbelievably powerful voice. To compare the songs is impossible. They are completely different. Each bringing different emotions to it because of how they are sung.
    So who is to say one is better over the other? Just because it may not be “your genre” doesn’t mean the song is horrible. Just sit back and take in the sheer awesome power of both.

  5. GodsMafiaMan said,

    I agree with Whit. I also think that both of those artists are amazing i listen to both Groban and LP and they are both very good versions of the song. I wish they would do a third version of the song and sing it together in a duet (or triplet if u count mike lol)

  6. lppat said,

    This is the first time that i realized that Josh Groban sang this song. while i think that he is an amazing singer, i think that Linkin Park really expresses the melancholy that the song is meant to emit. Josh does have a powerful voice, but i think that the gentleness and hint of dispare in Chester’s voice really sets the stage for this song, a song that, as Whit said, is about the darkest points in our lives when we strive for a glimps of hope. Because, it doesnt mean that we are necessarily going to receive that love that we hope for.

  7. Joseph said,

    who sand this song first? josh groban or linkin park?

  8. Many thanks for posting this amazing song


Leave a Reply

