October 31, 2006

Various Artists – Almost Paradise

Posted in Lyrics, Music Video, Song Comment tagged , , , , at 10:27 pm by LynxLee


This post is from a movie called “Footloose” (yeah, you’ve heard the song Footloose from Kenny Loggins everytime in Mix FM.. I know.. haha) starring Kevin Bacon. Even though Footloose is the theme song, but this song is the Theme Love Song for it.

“Almost Paradise,” such a wonderful classic 80’s song. The slow love power ballad duet between Loverboy’s Mike Reno and Heart’s Ann Wilson, with its organ-like synths and pounding drums, is very well the first drop of rain that propelled Heart to its 80’s success. I notice that Keith Olsen, who produced Passionworks, produced this song as well. And Loverboy would do a similar style power ballad, “Heaven In Your Eyes” for Top Gun.”
– quoting an amazon.com reviewer, Daniel J. Hamlow (Farmington, NM USA)

Mike Reno (of “Loverboy”) and Ann Wilson (of “Heart”) sings the original in 1984. The song is then later remaked by Eric Carmen & Merry Clayton in 1989. Eric Carmen co-written this song with Dean Pitchford. For more information about this song, go to Almost Paradise SongFacts.

This posting is for lia, once again.. for requesting.

I’ve added almost every single type of video I can find, since I couldn’t find any with the movie sequences. There’s 4 types.. I’ve labelled them below the video. The last video will be the one video I’d like the most, since I refer to the lyrics at the same time. Enjoy..

Oh, how could I have known
That all my life I only needed you?

It seems like perfect love’s so hard to find
I’d almost given up
You must have read my mind

And all these dreams I saved for a rainy day
They’re finally coming true
I’ll share them all with you


Eric Carmen & Merry Clayton’s Remake on the song.


YouTube’s user; nicknamed mbcool91 with his sister, gurlofgod singing this song along with a piano.

Kenny Loggins & Ann Wilson singing Almost Paradise
Kenny Loggins & Ann Wilson duet on this song. [Credit Thanks to Brian]


Ann Wilson & Mike Reno’s Almost Paradise song with a static background.


Ann Wilson & Mike Reno’s Almost Paradise song with a “Beauty & The Beast” skits.

I thought that dreams belonged to other men
‘Cause each time I got close
They’d fall apart again

I feared my heart would beat in secrecy
I faced the nights alone
Oh, how could I have known
That all my life I only needed you?

Oh
Almost paradise
We’re knockin’ on heaven’s door
Almost paradise
How could we ask for more?
I swear that I can see forever in your eyes
Paradise

It seems like perfect love’s so hard to find
I’d almost given up
You must have read my mind

And all these dreams I saved for a rainy day
They’re finally coming true
I’ll share them all with you
‘Cause now we hold the future in our hand

Oh
Almost paradise
We’re knockin’ on heaven’s door
Almost paradise
How could we ask for more?
I swear that I can see forever in your eyes
Paradise

And in your arms salvation’s not so far away
It’s getting closer
Closer every day

Almost paradise
We’re knockin’ on heaven’s door
Almost paradise
How could we ask for more?
I swear that I can see forever in your eyes
Paradise

Paradise

Paradise

powered by performancing firefox

4 Comments »

  1. Brian said,

    I have posted another video on my site. Kenny Logins and Ann Wilson

    http://homepage.mac.com/bchsea/iMovieTheater38.html

  2. LynxLee said,

    Nice.. do you mind if I add a link in the post as well? They did mention that this song is better sang by Kenny Loggins.

  3. lia said,

    hi lynxlee… what can i say but thank u again for giving me ‘almost paradise’!
    (hehe.. consider urself hugged for the effort)

    my favourite one would be the one sang originally by mike reno and ann wilson… and very cute one with the posting from beauty and the beast. listening to this song really brings me down memory lane… ‘footloose’ has been one of my favourite movies.

    have’nt actually heard the one sung by kenny loggins who also happens to be one singer with a very good vocal especially when he sang ‘for the first time’. anyway… again i say am not good with pc… so there was an error when i tried listening in to the one posted by brian. what should i do?

  4. LynxLee said,

    I think the reason why you can’t watch the video posted by Brian is because your computer possibly isn’t installed with Quicktime. It’s necessary to view the .mov file. Here.. follow this link & download the software & install it.
    http://www.filehippo.com/download_quicktime_player/
    =P

    Yeah, he did sing “For the first time”.. great lyrics for a father to son.. haha.. I just can’t relate that song to a relationship romance.. haha..
    =)


Leave a Reply

